Library Day in the Life Wiki…07.29.08

29 07 2008

I think the Library Day in the Life project http://librarydayinthelife.pbwiki.com/  is pretty interesting and relevant to the purpose and content of my daily blog. Although I don’t detail everything that goes on each day, I do provide a cohesive thread along those lines from when I started blogging.  If I had the extra time to devote to a detailed reporting of my daily activities, I would do so.  Perhaps I will at some future date.  However, it seems from my review of what most post online about their activities, mine would seem rather mundane and somewhat misleading since many of my daily activities would not appear immediately as directly library-related since I have an organizational marketing component to my position which is a little too complex to grasp without much explanation.  Anyway, a description of the project follows.  I plan to look in from time to time to see what the various participants say they do each day.

“…Whether you are a librarian or library worker of any kind, help us share and learn about the joys and challenges of working in a library. Join us by sharing details of your day for a week on your blog. Not only is this a great way for us to see what our colleagues are doing and how they spend their days but it’s a great way for students who are interested in the library profession to see what we really do. 

If you are interested in sharing your day/week in the life:

  1. Add your name to the list below. The invitation code to log in is: library.
  2. Add your name, your job title (so we can see what you do at a glance) and a link to your blog.
  3. Next week* start blogging.
  4. Tag your posts with librarydayinthelife.
  5. Later you can come back and edit this page to change your blog link to a link to your tagged posts. 

Thank you to Bobbi Newman for this wonderful idea! You can read the post that inspired librarydayinthelife on Bobbi’s site Librarian by Day.  

7/24/08 edit – It looks like this is still making the rounds and if everyone else is in agreement maybe we can making this an ongoing project.  New people can sign up whenever they discover it and I know some people are already talking about doing it again in 6 months or so…”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 686 other followers

